The best tallow balm is the one whose label you can read in one breath, that names suet, that has no water in it, and that comes with a try window, at a price per ounce you've actually calculated. That's the whole method. Below is the spec table for eight brands you're probably already comparing, pulled from their live pages on September 6, 2026, and then a jar-by-job answer for face, sensitive skin, dry skin, redness, marks, and making your own.
I make one of the eight, and I've built this so you can check me. It is checkable, though: every cell comes from the brand's own page, dated, and I've listed where each brand beats us. Nobody scored anything here and nobody tested 22 balms. You get six checks and one table, then the choosing is yours.
If you'd rather skip to my pick: Bare Silk Unscented ($34) for almost everyone's first jar, and the five-jar line if you already know your job.
Reviewed October 13, 2026. The eight-brand table was read off each brand's own page on September 6, 2026, and those figures stand until the next check.
How to choose a tallow balm: six checks
1. Does the label say suet? Suet is the dense fat around the kidneys. It renders cleaner, firmer and milder than trim fat from the outside of the animal, and it's the reason a good balm doesn't smell like a grill. Most brands say "tallow" and stop. If the word suet isn't there, ask. Suet, not trim is the long version.
2. Does it say grass-finished, or only grass-fed? Grass-fed can legally describe an animal that finished on grain. Grass-finished means pasture through the end. Brands that buy the better fat tend to say both words. The label decoder is here.
3. Is there water on the label? Water means a preservative system and an emulsifier, and it pads the volume. Every balm in the table below is waterless, which is the one thing the whole category gets right.
4. Can you read the label out loud in one breath? Two to ten ingredients is the range for a balm. Longer than that and you're buying a cream in a jar.
5. If an active is claimed, is the dose stated? "With bakuchiol" tells you nothing. "1% bakuchiol" on the product page tells you everything. A cosmetic label has to list its ingredients in descending order, and nothing obliges a brand to print a percentage, so the dose appears only when someone decides to put it there. Doses are the difference between a recipe and a vibe.
6. Is there a try window, and what's the price per ounce, by weight? Whipped balms are sold by volume rather than weight. Up to half of a whipped jar can be air. A semisolid cosmetic has to declare its net contents by weight rather than by fluid measure, so divide the price by the net weight, not the jar size, and check whether "money back" has a number of days attached.
Eight tallow balms compared (as of September 6, 2026)
| Brand and balm | Price / size | Per oz | Ingredients | Suet stated | Unscented option | Whipped | Try window | Made in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Craft Tallow, Bare Silk (Unscented) | $34 / 2 oz (56 g by weight) | $17.00 | 5 | Yes, grass-fed and grass-finished | Yes | No, poured dense | 60 days, product refund | Blended in the Mountain West, USA |
| Toups and Co, Tallow Balm Original | $32 / 2 oz; $62 / 4 oz | $16.00 / $15.50 | 6 (tallow, olive oil, 4 essential oils) | No | Yes, $32 (2 ingredients) | Not stated | 30-day money back | Coastal Alabama |
| Primally Pure, Everything Balm | $30 / 1 oz; $56 / 2 oz | $30.00 / $28.00 | 10 lines (incl. emu oil, beeswax, lavender and tea tree oils) | No | Baby Balm, $34 / 2 oz | Not stated | Money back, no day count shown | Southern California |
| Hearth and Homestead, Herb-Infused Whipped | $29.99 / 1.3 oz; $49.99 / 2.6 oz | $23.07 / $19.23 | 2 lines (suet tallow; olive oil infused with calendula and rose) | Yes | This is the unscented | Yes | 30-day returns, unopened, store credit | Virginia |
| Vintage Tradition, Totally Unscented | $22.95 / 2 fl oz; $80.35 / 9 fl oz | $11.48 / $8.93 per fl oz (sold by volume) | 2 (tallow, olive oil) | On a separate page, not the product page | This is the unscented | No | One month from receipt | Colorado Springs |
| Evil Goods, Whipped Tallow and Manuka Honey | $49.99 / about 4 oz (net weight not printed) | About $12.50 | 5 named, no formal ingredient list on the page | No | Yes, $49.99 | Yes | 30-day money back | USA |
| Ancestral Cosmetics, Original Tallow and Honey | EUR 26 / 60 ml (2 oz) | EUR 13.00 | 10 (incl. raw honey, 6 essential oils) | Yes | Yes, EUR 26 | No | "We will make it right", no window | Ireland |
| Gentle Tallow Co., Daily Relief (Unscented) | $20 / 2 oz; $30 / 4 oz | $10.00 / $7.50 | 2 lines (suet tallow; calendula-infused jojoba) | Yes | This is the unscented | Not stated | Money back, no day count shown | Missouri |
Table note: Vintage Tradition prices by volume (fl oz) and the other jars price by weight (oz); those are not the same ounce, so the per-ounce column compares each brand against itself.
Where they beat us, plainly: Gentle Tallow and Vintage Tradition are the value picks, at roughly half our price per ounce, and both are two-ingredient labels, which is as short as a balm gets. Toups has the deepest scent range and the biggest review pool in the category. Hearth and Homestead names suet and has a small sample size, which I wish more brands offered. Evil Goods and Ancestral both put real honey in a jar, and Ancestral prints a proper INCI list, which Evil Goods doesn't. Where we differ: we're the only one in the table that states a dose for an active on the product page, 1% bakuchiol on Velvet. We're also built as five jobs rather than one balm with scent options, and the sixty-day window is ours alone. You pay for that. Whether it's worth it depends on your job, which is the next section.
Best tallow balm for face
A face balm has to vanish, sit under makeup, and carry an active if you want one. Bare Silk Unscented ($34) is the plain face jar: arrowroot sets it matte, meadowfoam and jojoba keep it light, and it disappears under foundation in a minute. For the look of fine lines, Velvet Face Renewal ($89) is the only balm in this table with a stated active dose: a true 1% bakuchiol, twice the 0.5% used in the published bakuchiol-versus-retinol trial, with oil-soluble vitamin C and CoQ10. Among the others, Toups' Frankincense Face Balm ($52 / 2 oz, four ingredients) is the face-specific option, and Vintage Tradition's unscented balm is the budget face jar if you don't mind an olive-oil finish. Is tallow good for your face? answers the dermatologist objections first.
Best tallow balm for sensitive skin
The rule is no fragrance, no essential oils, and the shortest label you can find. Three jars in the table pass cleanly: Bare Silk Unscented (five ingredients), Toups Unscented (two), and Gentle Tallow's unscented Daily Relief (two lines). Vintage Tradition's Totally Unscented also passes. Bare Silk costs more than the two-ingredient jars because meadowfoam, jojoba and arrowroot turn a plain fat into a face finish; if you only want a body balm, the cheaper two-ingredient jars are a fair choice. Tallow for sensitive skin walks the five-ingredient label, and tallow for eczema-prone skin is the between-flares guide.
Best unscented tallow balm
An unscented tallow balm doesn't carry fragrance or essential oils, and the shortest version is a two-line label: tallow and one liquid oil. Four unscented jars in the table are that short.
Toups Unscented ($32 for 2 oz) and Vintage Tradition's Totally Unscented ($11.48 per fl oz, sold by volume) are two ingredients each. Gentle Tallow's Daily Relief ($20 for 2 oz) and Hearth and Homestead's Herb-Infused Whipped both name suet and steep calendula in the oil, and Hearth and Homestead adds rose. Ours is Bare Silk Unscented ($34 for 2 oz): five ingredients, suet named, poured dense and a 60-day try window. Three of the four list a lower price per ounce than ours, and Bare Silk's extra lines buy a face finish. Unscented is the right default for a face, a child, pregnancy and reactive skin, whichever jar it's in.
Grass-fed alone says less than you'd think, so look for grass-finished and suet beside it, and four of the eight brands in the table name suet. Grass-fed vs grass-finished tallow explains what each word promises and what it doesn't.
Best tallow balm for dry skin
Dry skin wants a humectant to pull water in and a seal to keep it there, and the honey balms exist because honey is the humectant. Three brands in the table do honey: Evil Goods (manuka, whipped, 4 oz), Ancestral (raw Irish honey, dense, Ireland), and ours, Honey Glow ($42), which uses an oil-soluble manuka extract instead of raw honey, because raw honey runs about 17% water and water separates out of a waterless jar over time. Honey Glow adds oat oil for barrier lipids and squalane for slip. If you want the most balm for the money, Evil Goods' 4 oz whipped jar is the cheapest honey balm per ounce in the table, with the caveat that some of that volume is air. Manuka honey in skincare: what MGO and UMF mean for a tallow balm explains the raw-versus-extract question.
Best tallow balm for redness-prone skin
Nobody else in the table makes a redness-specific jar, which is why we do. Moonlight Calm ($69) carries a studied dose of Moroccan blue tansy with blue chamomile CO2 on a dense suet base, no menthol, no cooling agents, as the last step of the night. If your skin reacts to daisy-family plants, or you'd rather start plain, Bare Silk Unscented is the safe first jar and the one I'd run for a month before adding Moonlight. Tallow for rosacea-prone skin has the protocol and the trigger list.
Best tallow balm for scars and stretch marks
This is a job for botanicals, not for plain tallow. Recovery Balm ($74) stacks helichrysum, rosehip CO2, sea buckthorn and tamanu in the densest jar we make, for the look of scars, stretch marks and hard-worn skin, on an eight-to-twelve-week timeline. None of the other seven brands in the table make a marks-specific balm, though Primally Pure's Everything Balm is pitched broadly enough to include it. Tallow for stretch marks and scars sets expectations properly, including what a balm can't do.
Best tallow balm for making your own
If you'd rather blend than buy, you need rendered suet, a scale, and a recipe by weight. How to make tallow balm at home is the real recipe, including the cooling step that keeps it from going grainy. If you want the botanical doses measured for you, the Craft Tallow Kit ($110) ships five tallow bases, five measured vials, a warming plate and the recipe deck, and makes the whole $308 line at your counter in about five minutes a jar. It's sold out right now and ships in about three weeks on pre-order.
Best value tallow balm per ounce
By price per ounce the value picks in the table are Gentle Tallow's Daily Relief, $7.50 an ounce in the 4 oz, and Vintage Tradition's Totally Unscented, $8.93 per fluid ounce in the 9 fl oz, both two lines long, read on September 6, 2026. Ours is $17.00 an ounce, roughly double, and the difference buys five lines, a face finish and a 60-day try window.
If the job is hands, heels and a budget, buy the value pick and keep a face jar for your face. If you'd rather own one jar that does both, that's the trade you're paying for, and the per-ounce column is where to check it.
Best tallow skin care products, brands and companies: the same six checks
A tallow company can call its jar a cream, a moisturizer, a balm or a butter, and the six checks at the top of this post still decide which one's best. They work on a whole brand too, one product page at a time, so you don't need a ranking to judge a company you've never heard of.
On the best jar, the product page names suet, the dense fat from around the kidneys. It says grass-finished as well as grass-fed. There's no water on the label, so no preservative system rides along. The ingredient list reads out loud in one breath. Any active it claims comes with its dose stated on the product page. Last, you get a try window with a number of days on it, and you've worked out the price per ounce by weight.
The best tallow for skin is suet from grass-fed and grass-finished cattle, rendered low and slow and poured into a jar with no water. That's the bar we hold our own jars to, and it's the one I'd hold any company to.
What's the best beef tallow for skin, before it's a balm?
Plenty of people skip the balm and buy a tub of plain rendered fat, which is a fair move if you know what you're buying. The best beef tallow for skin is suet-rendered, grass-finished, unbleached and not deodorized, and it should say all four of those on the page. Cooking tallow usually isn't: it's rendered from trim, often hot, and sometimes deodorized so it doesn't flavor a fry. It'll still moisturize. It'll also smell more like a kitchen and set softer and less evenly.
The other thing to know is that plain tallow drags. Straight from the tub it's stiff on a dry patch and slow to absorb, which is why every balm on the list above blends in a liquid oil at something like one part to four. If you're buying the raw fat, buy the good version and plan to blend it, and run the same six checks on the tub that you'd run on a jar.
Whipped or dense?
Two brands in the table whip (Hearth and Homestead, Evil Goods); the rest pour dense. Whipping folds air into fat, so a whipped jar looks fuller than the balm inside it, cools unevenly, and collapses if it warms in transit, usually re-setting grainy. A dense balm is sold by weight, survives a hot truck, and warms between two fingertips in three seconds. The only thing whipped does better is scoop straight from a cold jar. Compare price per ounce by net weight and the difference is usually the air. Whipped tallow balm, whipped vs dense is the full comparison.
Best dense tallow balm, if you'd rather not pay for air
Dense is the other half of the whipped question, and it's the half the heavy jobs want. A poured balm is sold by weight, so 2 oz on the label is 2 oz of balm; it warms between two fingertips in three seconds, spreads thin, and a pea covers a face. Hands that get washed all day, heels, winter shins and a face that wants a film under makeup instead of a cloud all do better with dense.
All five of ours pour dense. For the heavy-duty jar I'd hand you Honey Glow ($42): an oil-soluble manuka honey extract in suet tallow, built for hands and heels that drink a lotion and ask again an hour later. For the look of scars and stretch marks on intact skin it's Recovery Balm ($74). Among the other brands in the table, Toups Unscented and Vintage Tradition's Totally Unscented, two ingredients each, are the dense jars with the shortest labels, at a lower price per ounce than ours; the table has the figures.
Which Craft jar, if it's ours
Five jars, five jobs: Bare Silk ($34) for sensitive, reactive and whole-family skin; Honey Glow ($42) for dry, thirsty skin; Moonlight Calm ($69) for redness-prone evenings; Velvet ($89) for the look of fine lines; Recovery ($74) for the look of scars and marks. Every jar is 2 oz by weight, poured dense, on grass-fed and grass-finished Montana suet, with sixty days to disagree.
The jar for most first orders is Bare Silk Unscented ($34). Subscribe to two jars and a third rides free, and every subscription takes 25% off the first delivery.
Questions we hear
What is the best tallow balm?
The one that names suet, has no water, has a short label and states any active's dose, and comes with a try window, at a price per ounce you've calculated by weight. For a first jar, an unscented balm with two to five ingredients. Ours is Bare Silk Unscented; Toups Unscented and Gentle Tallow's unscented Daily Relief are the plainest labels among the others.
What is the best tallow balm for face?
One that sets matte and vanishes under makeup, with a stated dose if it claims an active. Bare Silk Unscented for a plain face jar, Velvet Face Renewal for the look of fine lines with 1% bakuchiol, and Toups' Frankincense Face Balm as the face-specific option among the other brands.
Is whipped tallow balm better?
No. Whipping adds air, not balm. Whipped jars scoop easier from cold but collapse when warm and often re-set grainy. Compare price per ounce by net weight, and buy dense if you live somewhere with a summer.
Why do tallow balms cost so much per ounce?
Suet from grass-finished cattle costs more than trim, small-batch rendering costs more than industrial, and botanicals like blue tansy or bakuchiol cost far more per gram than the fat. A pea does a whole face, so a 2 oz jar lasts about a month of daily face-and-body use, which is the number to compare against a bottle of lotion.
Which tallow balm brand is the most trusted?
Toups and Hearth and Homestead have the largest review counts in the category. Trust the label more than the count: suet named, water absent, doses stated, and a try window with a number on it.
Is tallow balm worth it?
For dry, sensitive or reactive skin that reacts to water-based creams, usually yes: one waterless jar replaces a moisturizer, a hand cream and a lip balm. For oily skin that's happy with a light lotion, probably not.
What is the best tallow cream, moisturizer or lotion?
If water isn't on the label, a tallow cream or a tallow moisturizer is a balm by another name. A tallow lotion is a different product: water and oil held together by an emulsifier, so it needs a preservative system. Judge any of them by six checks: suet named, grass-finished, no water, a short label, any active's dose stated, and a try window with a price per ounce by weight. Our post on beef tallow skin cream, lotion, balm or butter sorts out the words.
Is grass-fed tallow balm better?
Grass-fed and grass-finished is the standard we buy to, and it's the pair of words to look for, with one catch: grass-fed alone can describe cattle that finished on grain. Grass-finished means pasture to the end. Past the label, the differences you'll notice come from the cut, kidney suet over trim, and from what happens next: a low, slow render and a jar with no water. Grass-fed vs grass-finished tallow is the long version.
What is the best whipped tallow balm to buy?
In our September 6, 2026 comparison, two brands whip: Hearth and Homestead's Herb-Infused Whipped ($29.99 for 1.3 oz, suet named) and Evil Goods' Whipped Tallow and Manuka Honey ($49.99 for about 4 oz). Up to half of a whipped jar can be air. If you want the balm without the air, ours is dense and sold by weight, 2 oz (56 g) of balm: Honey Glow ($42) for thirsty skin, Bare Silk ($34) for a face. Whipped tallow balm, whipped vs dense goes deeper.
What is the best tallow and honey balm?
It depends on which honey. Most tallow and honey balms stir raw honey into tallow with beeswax and an oil, which is why some can feel tacky on a face and sit better on hands and lips. Honey Glow ($42, 2 oz) uses an oil-soluble manuka honey extract in dense suet tallow with oat oil and squalane, no beeswax, so it goes on a face without the drag. Tallow and honey balm: does it work? covers what honey can and can't do in a jar with no water.
Go deeper
Beef tallow for skin: the complete guide is the long version of why the fat works. How to read a tallow label turns the six checks into a habit. Craft Tallow vs Primally Pure and Craft Tallow vs Toups and Co are the head-to-heads with us in them, and Meet the five balms is the tour of ours. If you want more than eight brands in one grid, the tallow balm comparison page puts 12 brands side by side on price per ounce, label and try window. Tallow balms bought and weighed is the bench version of this table: eight of these jars ordered at retail, with the label price per gram now and the measured numbers when they land. Craft Tallow vs Summer Solace sets two unscented jars side by side, label by label. The newest head-to-head with us in it is Craft Tallow vs Eat My Face, a 4 oz tin against a dense five-ingredient jar. Craft Tallow vs FATCO sets a whole-body catalog beside one balm system. Craft Tallow vs McBee Farm tallow reads the TV farm's balm beside ours. Small-batch tallow balms compared adds nine small makers, read off their live pages with the price per ounce. Five questions to ask before you buy a tallow balm is the label checklist in one page. How to read tallow balm reviews covers the FTC rule and five tells before you trust the stars.
Five head-to-heads between the other brands in the table have their own pages, and none of them have us in the ring: Evil Goods vs Based Supplies, Toups and Co vs Primally Pure, Hearth and Homestead vs Vintage Tradition, Neptune vs Vanman, and Ancestral Cosmetics vs Tallow Me Pretty. If you're deciding between two specific jars rather than eight, those are the pages to wait for.
Sources
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 701.3, Designation of ingredients. eCFR.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 701.13, Declaration of net quantity of contents. eCFR.
- Dhaliwal S et al. (2019). Prospective, randomized, double-blind assessment of topical bakuchiol and retinol for facial photoageing. British Journal of Dermatology 180:289-296.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. FoodData Central: Honey (FDC ID 169640). USDA.
- Keri JE (2026). Principles of topical dermatologic therapy, page last updated June 2026. Merck Manual Professional Edition.